TV Schedue | Official Sponsors | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Home ABF Tour Format Entry Calendar Results News Standings Profile Photo
    only search this site
Victory for Thai and Hong Kong Photo 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

12th March, Kuwait: 2012 Asian Championships gold medalist, Yannaphon Larpapharat of Thailand and 2008 TOC winner, Chan Shuk Han of Hong Kong won the Men's and Women's title of the ABF Tour Tournament of Champions at Cozmo Bowling Centre.

Both Frawley and Yannaphon got off the match with a double but when the Thai struck twice again in frames 3 and 4, the Aussie opened in the third to trail by 37 pins.

Although Yannaphon struck again in the fifth frame, Frawley was unable to response as both spared their next three frames. Yannaphon struck twice again in the ninth and tenth frames and closed out with 243 against Frawley's 194 to take the match and the title.

Men's Champion
Yannaphon Larpapharat with the men's champion trophy

"I went into the match quite confident as I know where to bowl," said the 29-year-old Yannaphon, whose last tour title was four years ago. "I started off well with five strikes and that must have put my opponent playing catch up."

The champion reached the finals after edging UAE's Shaker Al Hassan, 216-202 in the second semi-final match while Frawley ousted Bahrain's Mohammed Janahi, 223-201 to face Yannaphon.

The Aussie beat top seed and two-time TOC winner, Wu Siu Hong of Hong Kong, 210-203 in the quarter-finals and the Thai beat another Emirati and newly-crowned Bahrain leg champion, Hussain Al Suwaidi, 208-203 in the quarter-finals.

Meanwhile, Hong Kong's Chan Shuk Han denied Thailand a double when she easily beat Angkana Netrviseth, 211-180 in the Women's title match. Angkana settled down quicker than her opponent after rolling three consecutive strikes from frame 2.

Chan's split in her second frame did not dampened her spirit as she bounced back with four strikes-in-a-row from frame 4 which put pressure on the Thai as she had two open frames thereafter.

The match was over when Angkana had another split in the ninth frame and Chan doubled in the ninth and tenth frames to win, 211-180 and the women's crown.

Women's Champion
Chan Shuk Han winning the TOC Women's title for the second time

"I was determined not to throw away this chance when I had an opened frame," said the 39-year-old Hong Kong national team member, Chan. "I've come this far and I was not going to let this chance slip away so easily.

"I'm so happy to have won this for the second time and I've to thank my coach who made some changes to my game which allowed me to make smoother deliveries."

The champion breezed through to the finals after an easy victory over Milki Ng in the all-Hong Kong second semi-final match, 207-159 while Angkana edged top seed, Putty Armein of Indonesia, 182-148 in the first semi.

Chan posted the highest game in the women's division with victory over second seed and 2009 TOC winner, Sharon Limansantoso of Indonesia, 213-209 in the quarter-finals. Angkana edged 2008 TOC winner, Tang Joh Six of Malaysia, 208-205 in the quarter-finals.

Sheikh Talal Al-Sabah, President of Asian Bowling Federation and Kuwait Bowling was on hand to present US$20,000 to Yannaphon and US$10,000 to Chan. Frawley took home US$8,000 and Angkana US$US$5,000.

The losing semi-finalists, Shaker and Mohammed Janahi earned US$4,000 each while Ng and Putty earned US$3,000 each. The Men losing quarter-finalists received US$2,500 each and the Women US$2,000 each.

The top 16 men and top 16 women based on their tour rankings earned in 2012 out of eight legs qualified for the Tournament of Champions. They contested 10 games in Round 1 qualifying for the field to be cut to top 8 men and top 8 women for today's quarter-finals knockout rounds.

For further information and details, please contact ABF Tour Committee at Tel: +852 2893 6039, Fax: +852 2893 6290; Email:

 ABF Tour - TOC
Registration Form
Prize Structure
Men's Round 1
Women's Round 1
Quarterfinals Matches
Semifinals Matches
   - Men Semi M1
   - Men Semi M2
   - Women Semi M1
   - Women Semi M2
Finals Matches
   - Men Final
   - Women Final
Finals Results
 Copyright © Asian Bowling Federation, 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved. Hosted and maintained by NetMedia Services